Vermont Paid Sick Day Legislation (H. 382)
proposes to ensure that all workers in Vermont are able to take care of
their own health and safety needs and those of their families by allowing
employees to accrue a minimum number of paid hours annually so that
workers can take paid time from work to address issues related to health
care or safety for themselves or a family member.
bill provides that employees will earn one hour of paid leave per 30 hrs
worked, accumulating time over the course of the year until a maximum of
56 hours or 7 days are earned. These paid sick days can then be used in
the case of:
or mental illness or injury.
professional diagnostic, preventative, routine, or therapeutic health
care for the employee.
for a sick or injured child, parent, parent-in-law, etc
services for the employee or the employee's child, parent,
parent-in-law, etc, when the absence is directly related to social or
EVERY VERMONTER GAINS: Children and family members will receive
the care they need, employers will experience savings in reduces turnover,
consumers will be less likely to catch an illness from public spaces and
all will benefit from an over all improvement in well-being.
Read the legislation
Federal Minimum Wage
Vermont Paid Sick Day
Paid Sick Day FAQs